Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How Fast / Slow Do You Eat

Could you all give me some examples of what you eat (size) and how long it takes you to eat it.

Also, how long does it take you to drink, lets say a cup of Water. Can you drink like before you were banded ?

THANK YOU !!!

I drink a little less now but I can basically drink the same way and amount as I did before but I just sip and I've actually gotten used to it now - no more gulping. I don't know how much I'm supposed to eat right now - still confused - but I'm on mush and only 8 days out. I got those 3 oz dixie bathroom cups and I use those to eat 3 oz at a time. But today I went out to Taco Bell with my DH and I ate 2/3 the inside of a burrito (no tortilla) in about 15 minutes - I take very very very small bites bites b/c I'm not good at chewing chewing chewing.

I eat slowly but I take too long to eat generally.

Let me explain.

The band does cause me to eat slowly. Anytime I am out with people I take longer than everyone to eat much less than they eat.

However, supposedly we are supposed to stop eating after 15 minutes. I often eat longer than 15 minutes if I am out and talking and having conversations. If I didn't make an effort, I could still be eating after an hour.

I used to be able to guzzle a cup of Water. Now it would take at least 5 minutes of sipping.

This morning I ate 2 small pieces of sweet and sour chicken and a fried wonton and a piece of shrimp and it took about 10 minutes. That's typical.

Another piece of info. At lunch I get 30 minutes to eat and I can rarely finish lunch (which is often something like oatmeal or cereal).

I can still gulp water........or any other liquids like a champ!