Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Here I am, and I'm ready to go!

I’m gonna be anonymous, at least to start. I am going by Lola. A little bit about me: I’m almost exactly 32.5 years old. I live in Brooklyn, New York in a little walk-up apartment, with my boyfriend, E. I’m a trained professional (see how I am trying to be all anonymous?) and I’ve recently decided to hang out a shingle and start my own business. My parents are lovely but difficult, they way all parents are, and I have a younger brother. I like long walks on the beach (really!), reading, cooking, traveling, friends, movies, museums, and manatees. OK, I don’t really care about manatees all that much, but I am a sucker for a good alliteration!

Oh, and at 5′4″, I weight approximately 280 lbs, give or take the time of day and what I ate for dinner last night. That’s about 150 lb more than where I should be. I think I first purchased a can of Slim-Fast from the local drug store on Main Street when I was…12? Followed by (what wasn’t it followed by, but here are some highlights):

the Scarsdale Diet

the eat-nothing-but-chicken-breasts- and green-vegetables diet

the low-carb and take supplements I had to buy from the diet counselor diet

the Dr who told me to take 2-1-2 pills throughout the day. This was college already, I think…I slept 1-2 hours per night with horrible nightmares.

the homeopath (male, in his seventies) who asked what was my favorite sexual position and recommended daily orgasms

Atkins

Atkins plus Meridia, Xenical,Strattera, Ionomine (also known as Phentermine, one of the phens in phen-phen), Wellbutrin, and a few others I don’t remember (couples with various sleeping pills and anti-anxiety medications, cause the pills made me so jumpy)

Weight Watchers

seventy million sessions with trainers and at least a dozen gym memberships I never used…