Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Loose skin after surgery

Hi! I am new here and I am sure that this has been answered many times, but please, bear with me. :thumbup:

Okay, so I told my Mom that I had looked into LapBand and was going through the approval process for the surgery. At first she was supportive, but as time went on, she became angry at my decision to "take the easy road." Whatever...one of her main concerns that triggered a concern in my mind, is loose skin. I was just wondering how many of you have had problems with loose skin, or with your skin not being so resilient. I was told that because of my age, as long as I work out, my skin SHOULD bounce back.....just wanted to hear everyone elses experience on the subject.

Thank you for taking the time to reply!!!! I appreciate it! :laugh:

I am not an expert here but I have learned the hard way on this topic. I do believe that Milk will help with your skin and if you do not lose weight super fast this will also help a lot along with exercise once you are able. There is something in Milk that helps with the elasticity of the strained body to recover its size and shape after deformation (obesity) Do remember to speak to the doctor before you do any kind of exercise as to not hurt your recovery.

This is all I know...

Michele

Does your mom REALLY think that it's healthier for you to weigh 268 than to have some loose skin? REALLY? Or is that masking another worry of hers?

Loose skin depends on many things including age, genetics, general health, life style, how fat you WERE, how LONG you were that fat, etc.

The younger you are, the healthier, the less likely you are to have bad issues.

However if you are like many of us, weighing 269 at age 29...(I weighed 186 at age 28...just as an FYI) means that unless you are one of the rare ones who diets and it works, by age 39 you'll have gained, and so on.