Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Newbie here with lots of questions

Hi there! I am considering getting either the lap band or Gastric bypass surgery. My doctor just sent the referal yesterday. I am 37 years old and have a load of health problems due to my weight. This is my deal; I have Diabetes, Cholestorol, knee and ankle problems and I have polycstic ovaries which prevent me from ovulating monthly thus having only one child (very thankful for him)

I am mostly doing this for my health and energy level basically my quality of life. I dont expect to jump into a swimsuit anytime soon as I know I will have lots of extra sagging (not looking forward to that)

Based on what I have been reading I may just opt for the lap band it doesnt sound so invasive.

Please bear with me as I have LOTS of questions and have never participated in a forum; Here are my questions to you:

:mad2:

Lap band VS Bypas surgery ?

What is a FILL?

How soon did you hear from the Richmond location after the dr referal?

How long b4 your surgery was actually scheduled?

what are the regrets if any, you had after the surgery?

any suggestions on things you should have considered before the surgery?

How was Kaiser, were they sensitive to this issue?

Did you go to many appointments, I live in Sacramento so I'm concerned about that

Did anyone have marriage problems after? I'm afraid because I have always been chunky and my husband met me this way and my son loves me this way too (just not being so unhealthy) he says, I feel like a comfy pillow. I asked my husband how he will feel about this frastic change but he said whatever I need to do to get healthy because he is also concerned. and I know my son would rather I be healthy than always have aches and pains becuase he worrys about losing his mommy.

Please HELP ! sorry for the long post but I have many questions and would like the honest truth not from a Doctor who hasnt experienced it.:D

What is a FILL?