Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Is anyone sorry?

I guess thats a dumb question on a support website. But is there anyone that is sorry? Or misses food? Or isnt losing weight? Im a 40 BMI, 39 yrs old and 230 lbs at 5'3. Scared as hell. Single, 11 yr old daughter. My mother is fat phobic and the older I get the heavier I get. I need to be healthy for my child and myself - but Im afraid Ill miss food, the texture, the taste?? How do u go out for dinner with friends? How do u drink liquids for 6 weeks????? And more????

I dont recognize myself in the mirror anymore - but yet I always opt for the cheeseburger. Thats a self control issue.....will I lose weight this way? Will I be strong enough?

Anyone?????????????:mellow:

Dear GGQ,

I have only had the lap band since January 13, 09 so I am no expert but I can tell you that I had all the same fears as you going into this, especially whether I would have the self control to lose the weight. Looking at the posts on this website before going into surgery, I noticed two types of people...those who loved the band and those who hated it. I am somewhere in between. Here is my honest take on the lap band.

I drank liquids for four weeks (2 before and 2 after). I won't lie to you, it was hard...really hard! Especially in the beginning. I was going crazy with the lack of food and the caffeine withdrawal. Somehow I survived and felt stronger for it.

The actual surgery was not too tough for me. The worst part was the gas pain in my shoulders.

Food does taste different to me, especially fruits. I can't eat any kind of bread. :mellow: Some things that I used to love to eat I don't like the taste of as much anymore. Of course, I have not had a cheeseburger, or many other things, since the surgery so I can't say if that tastes different. The good thing is, I haven't really had any desire to eat a cheeseburger.