Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Depression and Banding / Insurance

Hi guys I have a question. I have not yet been banded, but I am in the very beginning steps of the process. I have been spending countless hours reading and researching about the lap band and realize band and am attending my seminar next Wednesday. I have an appointment to see a surgeon the week after.

Anyways, I have a question regarding past depression. A year ago, I was suffering from a severe major depressive episode. I have always had small depression bouts that would last a month and go away, but this was serious. I dropped out of school (I'm a college student), I didn't have a job, I stopped hanging out with my friends, and I basically shut myself out from society entirely because of my depression. I made it worse by shutting myself out though and deciding to take a semester off. In January, I had a suicide attempt that landed me in the ICU for a week and the hospital for another week.

Immediately following the incident, I realized how many people in my life care about me immensely and how clouded my mind was for not seeking out help and just talking to friends and family. It was a rough few months recovering, but my parents were extremely supportive and my friends had missed me so much and loved having me back in their life again.