Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Not sure if this is right place to post...I read (or saw) somewhere that the band is about 20-25 years old. What is the longevity of the band? How long have you had the band and does it ever need to be replaced due to "wear and tear?" Any answers to this would be appreciated from fellow bandsters :smile2:

I would also like to know how long the bands are expected to last. If/when they "wear out" do we just get a replacement band? Thanks for any information...pls

I'm no expert, but after discussing this with my doctor just last week -- he said the lapband will stop working at some point, but there is not really long term data to know what that average life span is yet... ....at the time it does wear out, you have to either leave it in not working, replace it or remove it entirely.

The book that my surgeon's office gave me after my consult has some info about this....let's see.

The Lap-Band Solution by Paul O'Brien MD (published 2007)

in the FAQs Section:

How long will the band last?

We really don't know. We have been using the Lap-Band for more than 10 years and there has been no sign of it wearing out. However, realistically we can't expect a device such as this to last 40-50 years. We do expect that somewhere down the track there will be failure of the adjusting baloon, in particular, and should this occur, the band would need to be replaced. It is going to remain to be determined if and when this should be necessary. We are hopeful that you will get good service from the Lap-Band for at least 20 years and if, after that, we have to replace it, well so be it.

The word Lap-Band is trademarked throughout the book, I'm not sure if that is indicative of one brand?