Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Lap Band v's Gastric bypass

Hello everyone,

My name is Tracy from Australia and I am a newbie here. I am booked into have my band done next week. I am in two minds as to which procedure to have? Has anyone had the gastric bypass?

Does the band stop you from craving for food?

Look forward to hearing your replies.

Tracy

No one here will have had the bypass (I don't think) since this is a board for bandsters. All of us have made the decision that bypass is not for us. I know I never considered it seriously at all--for me it was banding or nothing.

A properly adjusted band does indeed damper your appetite and slow down cravings in a BIG way. That doesn't happen overnight, and it may take a couple of fills until your band is adjusted correctly for you. But I think that's a GOOD thing--it gives you time to mentally adjust to eating much smaller meals, and there's nothing you can't eat if you want it. You just eat LESS of everything, and that's how you lose weight.

A lot of the band surgeons offer a seminar to discuss the pros and cons of the Band vs. Bypass. Dr. Barry Fisher in Vegas offers them about once a month, so you might try calling your surgeon to see if he knows about a local seminar. If you can't find a seminar, you should be able to find an indepth list of pros & cons on the internet somewhere.

When I was trying to determine which surgery was best for me, I did a lot of reading, a lot of thinking, and a lot of praying. I put together this list of reasons for my decision. I am now a bit more than a year post-op, and absolutely KNOW that I made the right decision!!!

RNY vs. the Band

These thoughts are the results of my own research and discussions with people, and are in no way a "medical" opinion.

1) The lap band is MUCH less invasive than the RNY and has a significantly lower complication rate.