Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi, I am just beginning my journey! My doctor is Francis Teng, MD, out of Las Vegas, and I have been following his work for almost 6 years. I have my consultation on the 15th, seeing the psychologist and nutritionist next week. My insurance is not paying, so I'm doing it all myself, with a little help from my mother. LOL! But, I have a 12 year old daughter who is at weight loss camp now and she has been there 2 weeks and has lost over 13 lbs so far. I want to set a good example for her, because she is doing it for me. I have entertained the idea of weight loss surgery for years now. My brother had the bypass done last year and has lost over 150 lbs. He had so many health problems so the surgery probably saved his life. I was set on having the same surgery when I learned more about the lap band. I like the idea of losing slowly, no cutting, less complication/risk, among other things, so I decided to go this route. I have about 140-150 lbs to lose. I would be ecstatic with 100. I found this site yesterday and I'm looking forward to learning from everyone here.:thumbup:

Welcome, Vegasgirl! There is a ton of information floating around on this site, and lots of knowledgable people to help you with support and questions. Good luck on your journey.

Hey! I also am having Dr Teng do my surgery and my INS wont pay so i am "self pay"... i went to his seminar back in Jan when i was pregnant... I just had my baby 5 weeks ago so i made my consult appt... It was yesterday... and today i did the psych eval and lab work... and im doing all the other appts next week... and in 2 weeks im having the surgery... July 18th... i didnt expect for all this to happen so quick! Im having my baby and surgery all on my maternity leave! Crazy!! Did they give you a surgery date yet?