Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello Calgary! :) Dr.McKenna?

Hi Everyone! :thumbup:... I'm new to this AWESOME site and have a few questions....

My GP referred me to Dr. Catherine McKenna in Calgary and today I booked my first appointment with her for September '08... The guy on the phone who scheduled me also told me that there was a $150 dollar one time fee? that Alberta Health doesn't cover?... I was wondering if anyone has been to her before?

I'm wanting to get the Lap-Band Surgery and I'm wondering how many steps there are in Alberta before you can get a referral to see a surgeon? do you have to see a nutritionist first (like Dr.McKenna?)...

I have also heard some doctors make you see a Psychologist too?? I'm Fat!! Not Wack!! lol

I'm also wondering if anyone has been referred to a Surgeon with good health? I mean I'm almost 400lbs and my sugars are excellent and so is my cholesterol but I am in need of it... The only thing wrong at this point in regard to my health is signs of PCOS (I'm 24)... I hope I can still get it done in Canada instead having to pay for it in Mexico...

Thanks for listening!! :)

Edited by CanadianChicka

Hi....and welcome to the site !!! :biggrin2:

Hopefully someone involved in the process in Alberta will reply to you and give you some answers. I've heard rumour that Alberta is actually pulling their gov't coverage of this procedure....true or not, I dunno. I've also heard that because the gov't are only covering a few surgeries (100+) a year the wait list is terrible. The surgeon will be able to give you more info on these issues I'm sure....altho maybe contacting the provincial medical system and asking will help as well.

As for the nutritionist and psych evaluation, both of these are very common, especially if insurance or gov't coverage is involved....and don't be overly surprised if you also need to be on a long-term supervised 'diet' as well.