Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I was a sunbeam teacher, then a nursery leader, now Primary Secretary. I can't tell if it's a promotion or a demotion. :thumbs_up: Problem is, I've always been a president or counselor.... what do secretaries do??

I find myself not doing much and I feel bad, but don't know what else to be doing. I take role, make assignments for prayers/talk/scripture... that's pretty much it!

Our presidency is kind of disorganized, so I guess I'm looking for good ideas to keep us on track and have a really great primary.

Anyone else work in Primary?

I work in Primary. I'm actually the president and I have amazing counselors. We have a secretary, but she's totally inactive, so the second counselor fills in. She was the secretary in the last presidency, so she really knows her stuff. Here's some of what our secretary role includes:

• take roll, including submitting it to the clerk quarterly
  • check if we have any birthdays
  • take minutes during our presidency meetings and write them up afterwards, email them to the presidency
  • take a turn in the sharing time and conducting rotation
  • keep track of who has prayed and given talks
  • helps us photo copy children's talks so we have something to go from to write the program this summer.
  • each month puts up the new theme, gospel standard, scripture of the month, and article of faith on our bulletin board. She also keeps track of which one to do next.
  • subs in nursery when needed.

Some other things you could do:

• Write and mail notes to the kids who are missing
  • My sister's Primary Secretary makes a monthly newsletter for the kids' families. It includes the words for the song they are working on that month, assignments for the kids, etc.