Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

hi everyone,

i just attended a lap band seminar. after thinking long and hard, this is what i want to do, what i need to do!! so i called for an appt with the surgeon, july 18th is my appt. i have so many questions and no one to answer them just yet. so if anyone wants to give me a heads up on what to expect i would appreciate it.

here's some of my questions

what kind of pre op testing needs to be done?

whats this liquid diet before surgery stuff?

how long does it usually take from 1st appt to surgery?

I am in nj can i tell you who the surgeon is?

ok i'll stop now

thank you!!!!

Welcome to the forum! I'm new to the lap-band process so I can't help you with any of your questions but I do know that there are some terrific people here who will. :)

GOOD LUCK

When I started looking into surgery I just got on the internet and did a Google search for "lapband surgery", "lapband diary", "lapband blog", etc. I loved reading the online diaries and blogs of people who had the surgery. On You Tube I did a search for "lapband" and found videos of people talking about their surgery, and even videos of the surgery being performed. I learned a LOT that way. Also just read a variety of posts on this forum. Some quick answers to your questions....

It's up to your doctor what kind of pre-op testing needs to be done. It's not unusual to have to have a sleep study to test for sleep apnea, sometimes a visit to a cardiologist, a visit to a psychiatrist... bloodwork, various other tests depending on your doctor, your age, your medical history, and your general state of health.

Many doctors put their patients on a liquid diet for a week or two before surgery. This is to lose weight quickly to shrink your liver, which helps make surgery go better.