Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

hello out there, a newbie here

Hi, Ive been looking into getting the lap band done. I have alot of questions and am hoping that some of yall may have the answers. First off let me tell u a little about me. I am a 36 yr old mom of 3, divorced(not a bad thing!), and am weighing in today @ 280. 6 months before my divorce, my now ex-husband told me point blank that if I would lose 50 ppounds he wouldnt sleep with other women. well, im a contrary sort of person, and only ate more just to spite him. I have never liked my weight. but when i lose weight its gotta be for me and not anyone else. I almost passed out when i stepped on the scale today and saw the 280. My weight just keeps steadily growing. I live in the far north west tenn. and am looking for someone who is nearby who does the procedure. I have bcbs insurance and am also wondering how many hoops will i end up having to go thru to have this done. plus in general how much out of pocket should I be prepared to spend? i have looked at several websites and am seeing many different price scales. and lastly how much postop recovery time am i looking at? thanks again for your help.