Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi I am fairly new to the idea that a Lap band

Procedure might help my wife. We have been round and round and round with this nagging issue for about four years. She has been battling this issue for ten more!

I have been very supportive and encouraging since the get go. To further aggravate the issue I am not a MD:frown:. And I assure you all that it’s not about the looks of it! It is much more than that. And this is a WE issue for sure.

I know it bothers her to the core, makes her feel uncomfortable in her own skin and feels ashamed of the shape she is in.

These are the facts of the case AFAIK:

-Was an athlete in high school always height weight proportionate. Were 160 on a 5'6.5" frame

-At age 19 gave birth to second child 14 years ago, had complications, and was bed ridden for a few months before giving birth. This is when the weight gain started.

-Since then has been approximately 260- 280 lb till 4.5 years ago then dropped to 185 by not eating anything but lettuce and Water for 6 months. (This is when I met her)

-Then the climb was back on after I met her, back up to 285 ish.

-Last spring I gave her come to Jesus talk about her over all health and the weight was a part of it. And that I want her around for a long time and right now she may feel fine but it is not going to last (I know this I am older and not as bullet-proof either) ;)

-I am a cyclist and moved to CO for the riding. I begged her to participate more on the bike with me. AND SHE DID:thumbup:. We started to commute to work 13 miles one way at least a few times a week and the weight loss was back on and dropped 50 pounds! (225)

-All of her blood work has come back perfect and normal, BP is fine, and the only issue is excess weight. (And nagging ankle issues related to the weight). The doctors have said that she is a specimen of health! TOTALLY FRUSTRATING!