Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Recipes and good post banding foods

hi all,

I'm still on clear fluids so recipes are really a way off for me, but pre my operation I was an avid cook, I love cooking and having friends over for big dinners and BBQ's. I love international foods such as Italian, Greek, Thai, most Asian actually.

And I am interested to see how we can still be exciting with our cooking and inventive, but also be accomodating with our bands.

So I thought I would start the ball rolling and see if anyone else has some ideas.

I suppose the big hitter for me is BBQ's and dinner for friends.

Looking forward to your posts!

There's a recipes area that might have some good info for you.

My band doesn't effect my ability to cook, have people over, etc. Either I add in something to accomodate myself (e.g. if we're grilling steaks, I will get some turkey hotdogs or turkey patties since I don't eat red meat).

BBQ when done right is very tender and moist - ideal band food traits.

dinner for friends - this hasn't changed one bit. I still enjoy cooking for friends, and will eat some variant of what they're eating (variants only needed when it's red meat).

There's a recipes area that might have some good info for you.

My band doesn't effect my ability to cook, have people over, etc. Either I add in something to accomodate myself (e.g. if we're grilling steaks, I will get some turkey hotdogs or turkey patties since I don't eat red meat).

BBQ when done right is very tender and moist - ideal band food traits.

dinner for friends - this hasn't changed one bit. I still enjoy cooking for friends, and will eat some variant of what they're eating (variants only needed when it's red meat).

thanks for the advice, I'll check out the recipies section.

I'm personally reluctant to eat prepackaged processed foods such as turkey sausages and rissoles, so maybe the recipe site will give me some good ideas.