Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How Long?

Guest BiCoastal

Guest BiCoastal

Hello All! I am new to this and hope I am allowed to post here. I've been considering lapband for over 3 years now and finally have decided to do it. Can anyone recall how long it took from the time you met with the psychologist until surgery date? Although it took me forever to make a decision, now that I have, I am thrilled at the prospect of starting my life. :smile2:

Hi. It took me three months from first meeting and getting banded. While having tests run, I found out I had gallstones so that was two months out and then I had to recover from that surgery. If you work consistently at it you can probably have it done within two months. Good luck!

BiCoastal... I haven't been researching as long as you have but I've found a surgeon and I'm going for all my testing on March 19th. Since I live 4 hours away from the facility I get to do ALL my testing in one day. I don't know how long it will take after that to schedule my surgery. Hopefully not too long!

Hello All! I am new to this and hope I am allowed to post here. I've been considering lapband for over 3 years now and finally have decided to do it. Can anyone recall how long it took from the time you met with the psychologist until surgery date? Although it took me forever to make a decision, now that I have, I am thrilled at the prospect of starting my life. :)

I went to seminar on Oct 20, 07 and had surgery on Dec 28, 07..

Good luck to you!

First I just wanted to say a lot depends on your insurance or self-pay. I have really good insurance so my timeline was pretty quick after psych appointment.

Went to free seminar on 1/19/08

Psych Eval and nutrionist appointment on 2/8/08

Approved for surgery on 2/18/08

Pre-op appointment on 2/21/08

Surgery was 3/3/08.

I could have saved about 1-2 weeks if I didn't wait so long after seminar to see the Psych but my work schedule was hectic.

initial seminar 11/27/2007