Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

telling people about surgery

This is my first time on this forum. It has been interesting reading everyones comments whether to tell or not to tell. I am scheduled for surgery on Monday, Feb 25th and am scared to death. I have told my immediate family, a couple of close, close friends but am so unsure of some other close friends. I think they may just feel I am taking the easy way out.....which all of you know is not true. Just don't know what to do so I am doing nothing.:grouphug:

Just told my 96 year old mother-in-law and she was great about it. Told my 50ish sister-in-law and she was full of questions and seemed judgemental. Oh well. My husband, Mom and kids have been a great support group. I know that will continue after the surgery as well.
:)

Welcome and best of luck with your surgery. It's normal to have doubts but you're in good hands and have people to support you post-op.

I just got banded 2 days ago. I was scared, too. I believe I made the right decision for me. I think at some point in life I was taught to place too much value on other people (and their opinions), and tried to please others and take care of them, sometimes at my own expense. I had to realize that this was about me. I needed to do this for ME. Fortunately, everyone has been supportive. What they said behind my back is none of my business.

I heard this saying and it holds true for me: "Those that matter don't judge, and those that judge don't matter."

I was banded Jan. 16th and at first I planned to keep it under my hat and only tell those who needed to know, but very soon after my surgery people started noticing my weight loss and I found it easier to tell the truth about it, and I am glad I did. Most people I have told have been supportive and the majority ask curious questions, and that is ok with me.