Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

GAS Pains Post-Op Surgery

Hello, this is my first time to this site and having trouble finding an answer to address gas pains after surgery. I had my surgery on 1/28/08 and have been in pain ever since. It comes and goes and sometimes it feels like pressure in the middle of my chest. The Dr. looked at my port and said it looked good. Is it normal to have pains for 6 days after surgery? It has definetly slowed down my recovery and it is hard to get all my Water in and sometimes Protein. Thank you for any insight into this new LBP's experience.

I was banded yesterday 2/1 and I'm feeling exactly the same. Lots of pain and it feels like I have a giant air bubble in my body that won't come out. My doc checked over everything this morning and said it all looked good. He said it can take a week before all the air is gone. Kinda miserable, huh? Hope you feel better soon!

Walk, walk, walk. My friend was just banded and she uses a heating pad to relieve some belly discomfort and walks to get the gas out. I hope your feeling better. I'm going on Monday the fourth.

I had mine for almost 2 weeks. It was horrible the first few days. I think its from the air they pump into your body to see? Good Luck.

My surgery was 1/29 and even though the gas has gotten better, I am still dealing with the sensation that there is a huge burb waiting to be released. Ugh! It hurts and yes, it is getting in the way of drinking all the Water I need to be drinking.

I drank hot tea. It help alot. My physician did not tell me this but i had gallbladder and the told me this would help with the gas pain so i did it and it helped also a heating pad helped.

beth