Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Frustrated and disappointed

Hi all.

This is my first time actually posting even though I have visited the site many times for encouragement. I am coming up on my one year anniversary and have only lost 31 lbs. I began my journey at 248 lbs on Feb 22, 2007. It was very slow to begin with. I have the "large" 10 cc band and it took quite a while to actually feel some restriction. Then at one point I went from feeling restirction to nothing, right after getting a band fill. I don't think I will ever quite understand the human body :tongue:. I am now at point where I feel restriction but the weight is not coming off. I am over the 10cc mark which my doctor says is okay for this band, but why isn't the weight coming off? I do not PB often..is this normal? My cousin who has lost 100lbs in two years says she PB's at least 3 times week. Should I compare myself?

I even started consistently at the gym once a week ( I know it's not much but I figured I had to start somewhere). I am desprately seeking the 199 mark. That will be a monumetus occasion! I guess I am frustrated because I spoke to a friend last week who had surgery a few weeks after me and she has already lost 50 lbs, and is under the 200 mark.

I really want the band to work to it's full potential. I hate to think that I went through surgery and still weigh over 200 lbs. It is sooooo disappointing.:eek:

You do not want to PB like that.

I really believe exercise is key in getting the weight off. Eating better can only do so much, exercise is the real way to go to get the weight off. I know when I am working out regularly (at least 5 times a week an hour per day) I lose, when I don't work out I stay the same. Have you tried counting your calories or talking to a dietitian also? Sometime we eat much more than we realize. Good luck to you.