Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Help me make up my mind. I'm torn.

Hi

I'm trying to make up my mind. I'm trying to decide which is best for me, lap-band or gastric bypass. I'm sure there have been lots of discussions before, but, I'm new to all of this. I have tried to weigh them, but it's not working out for me.

Q1 : Does anyone have any words of wisdom that might help me out? Why do you think one is better than the other?

Q2 : What foods can you absolutely not eat, or eat much of. Also, if you want to include what happens when you eat them.

Q3: What were your complications, if any?

Thanks

Leigh

Leigh, you are here on a Lap Band Board..so of course most of us if not all of us will tell you to go with the Lap Band :)

I chose the Band over Bypass because there are less risks and complications.

No dumping syndrome, no malabsorption issues, less down time, less healing time, less liquid diet, no re routing of my insides, the list goes on and on. I do not regret my decision one bit

Guest wildandfree36

hi i am new here and i am going to have the lapband surgury done i would not have the bi pass done ........ my reason is because my aunt almost did not make it but it was the doctor who did it to her.. she went to a very good doctor in Columbus ohio and he saved her life ....... i would definately go with lapband i am ........ take care wildandfree36

Leigh, please research both as much as you possibly can before you do anything. There is so much to learn -preop and afterwards. This is a Lapband Support Forum, so obviously we're going to vote for the lapband. A Bypass Forum will do the opposite. How much weight are you wanting to lose? Either method requires lifestyle adjustments on your part. Best of luck to you!