Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Nervous about tomorrows appt:(

Hi All:) I am still new to this and have only posted a few times, I hope I'm doing this right!

I have attended the mandatory seminar that is offered through my hospital, as well as had the referral from my doctor sent out. I have my first visit with my surgeon and the psychologist tomorrow. I have concerns about what I say to them both, and how I say it. I am afraid it will jeopardize getting the procedure??

I have a 43 BMI and my only medical condition is GERD and a hiatal hernia. But... I have a huuuuge family history of obesity, heart attack, diabetes, hypertension....

Has anyone been nervous about their appointment for these reasons? I am so afraid I will say something wrong or not have "enough" medical issues. Thanks in advance!

Peace,

Kerri Marie

What does your insurance say about coverage? What are their requirements? Most insurances who actually cover AGB cover with a BMI if 35 if you have 2 comorbidities, but over 40 does not have to have them. They often do also include a caveat that you must have been morbidly obese for five years, or >100lbs overweight for five years. If you are hoping for insurance company coverage, that's what you need to find out.

If you are self-pay, then I would not worry at all. You are above the BMI requirement.