Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

dont know what else to do!!!

Guest hopeless

Guest hopeless

hi im new to this thing and it was suggested by one of the doctors ive seen. i am from dallas texas and i have been trying to get the lap band for 2 yrs but it hasnt worked out. i have been researching insurance options through my husbands job and purchasing insurance privatly and they either wont cover it or my husband and i would be in debt until we were 2,000 yrs old. i am five foot tall and i weigh 300 lbs i wasnt always big just started having weight problems after having my son i have been on every diet there is and still continue to diet with exercise but my doctors said the reason why i cant loose weight is because my bmi has gotten so high that it would take surgery to help me make a diffrence in the weight loss. Im scared because i have a 3 yr old son who i want to see grow up and be able to do things with and for him not tot be embarrassed of me because of my weight. i am completely unhappy and i dont know what else to do i have many medical problems because of my weight and im not ready to die.i have been denied by my insurances twice. so if anyone has any information for me to help me get this much needed surgery i would appreciate it. thank you and god bless..... hopeless dallas tx

Hopeless, have you gotten actual denial letters from your insurance company in regards to weight loss surgery? If so, how exactly were the letters worded? What are they writing you?

One thing I did was call my insurance company and ask them this question, just this way:

"Depending on the diagnosis code, and procedure code, do you cover weight loss surgery?"

If they answer "yes" then you know that it is a possibility and you have something to strive for.