Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Just been told I have a slip

Let me start with an introduction..... I am a 45 year old divorced father. I have a daughter who is 15 and I live in Tampa, Florida. I moved to Florida 10 years ago. I was born and raised in PA. I am a professional and currently I am a store director of a high end jewelry boutique. I have been in the industry my entire career (23yrs) and this is only the second organization that I have worked for since I graduated from college (Penn State University).

I have had a weight problem most of my life. Well at least since I was 10 years old. Like most I have tried every diet, with and without exercise. At times I had great success and was able to lose alot of weight and keep it off. But when it was all said and done, I would gain the weight back and then some. I hit my all time high in the summer of 2005. I am 5'11" and I weighed 310 pounds. I decided that weight loss surgery was the only way I could be successful and opted for a Lap-Band. October 25th 2005 I had my Lap-Band surgery. My doctor is Lee Grossbard. I selected Dr.G because of his candor. He is straight forward and does not feed you a line of bull****. I know some people like a soft approach when it comes to personal areas, but I am a black and white kind of guy. Give me the facts.... tell me what I can expect and I will make a decision. Dr. G was like... here is where we are Mark. Your 43 years old and obese (actually he said fat). You have a stressful profession and your high blood pressure is out of control. You have tried your entire life to control your weight and you can't. Your insurance company denied your request so you need to make a decision. I went home and thought about it over the weekend. I called him on Monday morning and told him I wanted the surgery. Sooooo... I moved some money around and self paid for the operation ($17,000.00:mad:).