Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Including a Letter For Insurance Review - Thoughts?

I spoke with Bariatric RN at Aetna regarding my VSG Approval concerns. I just feel like I'm going to get denied, and I can't allow that to happen. I have a BMI of 41, but had a 38 BMI the previous two years. The RN said I wouldn't be denied outright for this, but that it would go to to the Big Boss for review.

I am getting a letter from my PCP, stating that I have been attempting weight loss and management for 10 years.

I'm also including this letter. Thoughts?

To whom it may concern:

My name is XXXXX. I am 43 years old and have been obese since early childhood. At age 13, I weighed 200 pounds. At age 17, I weighed 225 pounds. At age 23, I weighed 245 pounds. At age 33, I weighed 215 pounds. At age 42, I weighed 232 pounds. In the last 10 years, I have fluctuated between 200 and 255 pounds. Regardless of how much or how hard I exercise, no matter how strict my diet, I cannot seem to get down to a healthy weight and to maintain that weight. I am writing this letter to ask for your help.

I have been consistently dieting and exercising all of my life. I spent 3 years on the Atkins plan, faithfully eating less than 20g of carbohydrates per day, which allowed me to maintain an average weight of approximately 200-215 pounds. I spent 6 months on Nutrisystem, which resulted in a 5 pound weight loss. This past year, I paid $130/week for 12 weeks of 1,200 calorie per day meals from Diet2Go and, from that, lost one pound. I was exercising a good amount during all of these weight loss attempts, and I still continue to move each and every day. I don’t give up. But it seems that, no matter what effort I make, the number on the scale continues to rise and, the older I get, the more difficult it is to stop that number from its seemingly steady incline.