Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello everyone. I have been dieting for almost 6 months now. My insurance said I had to have a dietitian for 6 months January 1st I changed insurance companies and now they say only 4 months I'm going to my last dietitian appointment and then everything gets submitted to the insurance company. My case manager at the hospital said I should have my surgery by the end of February. I am 44 years old and have realized the weight just does not come off like it used to. I have struggled with my demons forever and now it is time to take care of them and push them away forever. My highest weight I have ever been which was when I started this journey six months ago was 492 I am now down to 443. What is the most weight that people have lost in 6 months a year out? I am really getting excited to start a new journey!!

Congratulations on your journey! You sound so excited and you should be! I wouldn't recommend comparing what other people have lost during a specific period of time because we're all different. If you perceive yourself as losing "more slowly" than others, you might be discouraged.

Generally speaking, people who start at higher BMIs will lose more/faster than those with lower BMIs, but there are so many variables in the equation for each person. Also, many people seem to lose more/faster in the beginning and it slows as they approach their goal weight. However, others have started off very slowly. I've heard that an overall average is about 10lbs/month in the long run and you will hear wildly different rates from people. Again, doesn't mean you're doing it "wrong" if you don't lose at any given rate.

As long as you maintain a balance with eating and exercise, your weight will come off and you will be delighted at the new you! And congratulate yourself for all your accomplishments on the way to your goal weight.

Best of luck to you!

Edited by AlwaysVegas

Good luck to you!