Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I just wanted to introduce myself. I've been reading the forum and have found it really helpful. I will be having the Gastric Bypass surgery on the 21st. I've started the liquid diet today. I love the success stories, I was not successful with the band, it slipped and it leaked and was never restrictive. I worry the Bypass won't work for me either but am hopeful. It seems from reading here that the keys to success are exercise, Water and Protein.

I have a sedentary job and when not working, I am studying (also sedentary). I am very out of shape and just not capable of doing even the most basic exercise programs. I'm wondering if anyone has tips on how they came from being very sedentary, out of breath and sweating over minimal physical activity to 45 minutes a day of physical activity. My daughter wants me to do a 5k in August with her, it's a color run so not really a race. I think it's possible.

We are the same height and our starting weights are within 10 pounds. Don't know about your age, but I'm 43. Either way, I identify with the feeling of not knowing where to begin with exercise.

I have a ton of home exercise DVDs, often aimed at larger figures: "Heavyweight Yoga", "Plus-Size Pilates", and so forth. I'll be honest, I never made much use of them. I also have all sorts of home equipment, including various free weights, bands, blocks, mats, etc., but have never made much use of them either.