Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Sleep study anxiety?

I have to get a sleep study done. Now, I'm an insomniac, and I have essentially no sleep schedule. (Case in point: it's currently 2:30 AM and I haven't slept in about 25 hours.) Some days I'll sleep only an hour or two, and some days I'll sleep 10+ hours, and there's really no specific rhyme or reason to the whole thing, which is fine because although I'm a full-time student, almost all my classes are online.

I'm going to get a sleep study at 7 PM tonight, and I'm nearly having a panic attack thinking about it. I find it nearly impossible in beds that aren't mine, and without the things that normally help me sleep (my laptop, my music, etc), I don't think I'll be able to. I've never been able to "make" myself sleep just by laying down and closing my eyes, and although I've very clearly expressed my concerns to both the sleep doctor and my psychiatrist (who is prescribing the sleep study), they both seem unworried.

I'm nearly having a panic attack right now thinking about it, and I almost never have anxiety attacks. I don't know what to do. Help?

Ask your dr for a sleeping aid.. it won't effect the test and you will sleep