Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I have been researching lap banding for the last several months and have found this site to be very helpful and honest. I am trying to decide on a surgeon in mexico to perform my lap band procedure. I have family in San Diego and am leaning towards a Dr. Mascareno in Tijuana. Can anyone provide me any input on this surgeon???

Hello,

It is nice to meet you. I have honestly never heard of that doctor but that doesn't mean much. I would try to find other patients who have used him. Which hospital does he work out of? Have you contacted Inamed for a possible referal about him? Best of luck and best wishes, Teresa

Hi I was also banded in TJ in April 04 and researched many docs for over 6 months and I have to honestly say that I have never heard of him. Is he new? Is he an Inamed certified doc? How many bands has he done? Those things are important to know the answers to before making your final decision. There are several other well qualified docs in TJ if you choose not to use him. Best of Luck to you

I've been researching LapBand for over two years (and I've been banded for almost two years) and have never heard of him.

I live fairly close to Tijuana but went to Monterrey for the surgery itself. Where do you live?

Oh, I see where you live. And you know, maybe I HAVE heard the name. Well, then. A really honest answer from me would be...why would you fly so far away from home, when there are more experienced doctors closer to you?

If you stick the phone number on Mascareno's website into Google, you learn that it is listed to a Matthew Caposino, 1127 Broadmoor, La Puente, CA. I used to work very close to that area...not a business area...more of an industrial/low-income residential area of Los Angeles County. Usually, but not always, that kind of arrangement is between former patients who recruit new patients for a fee and the doctor. Not always...but often.