Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello,

This is my first time ever in a forum, but anyways I am planning on having the lapband done. I am getting doubts of having it done because the people around me are saying is not a good idea due to the after affects. I have some questions are the scars big scars and how does the lapband feel once inside? Please give me some advice with your experiences.

Welcome! Take some time, look around here and you'll find loads of good info. The Search function on the blue toolbar near the top of the page is a wonderful thing to use to find answers. I've learned a lot by using it.

I haven't been banded yet, so I cannot speak to what the band feels like, but I don't think anyone has posted that they can feel the band itself. The port area is sore after surgery, and sometimes after moving certain ways (it's sutured to a layer of muscle).

What after effects are they saying are not good???? I can imagine that someone might say the after effects of bypass surgery might not be good, but there are no real after effects of the Band other than soreness and gas pains after the surgery for a bit and occasionally eating too fast and getting "stuck."

Here's some links to help you with more info:

Here's a link to the FAQ forum, you will find many threads there about what all the abbreviations mean that are tossed around here, links to other good sites, technical references about the band, checklists, and things to ask the doctor:

http://www.lapbandtalk.com/lap-band-faqs-f73.html?s=&daysprune=&f=73

The scars are NOT big at all! Here's a link to the thread that has many, many pictures of people's scars, in various stages:

http://www.lapbandtalk.com/scar-stages-share-t6117.html

Here's a link to the thread with lots of before and after banding pix:

http://www.lapbandtalk.com/before-and-after-t4642.html