Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

New Member as of today!!!!!

So as you read, I am a newb.

My name is Mike, I am 34, live in Braidwood , Il, and I am kinda dissapointed.

I received a letter in the mail today denying me of insurance coverage for the band. The letter said I did not meet their requirements. I really laughed at that.

I did all of my pre requisite doctor garbage, and every one of them stated the band was an excellent idea for me. I am very healthy, just 151 pounds overweight, with a BMI of 45.

So now I am debating my next step. What should I do, where should I go from here, that kind of stuff.

Any words from you pros?

Mike

Hi Mike! Wecolme to th lapband land. What exactly did you not meet according to them? I swear, insurance companies can be so picky! Is there any way you find out what you need to do to get the band covered? Good luck and keep us posted. :)

I plan on calling the insurance company today, to see exactly what I may still need to do. I think I may actually need a doctors referral. I know what you're thinking, it isnt like that. About 2 years ago my doctor recommended the band to me, so after a long thinking process, I went to one of the seminars. So technically I did not get my doctors actual referral.

I'm hoping that's all I need, I can always go see my Doc, and she will gladly referr me

Mike

Well, I talked to my insurance company. According to them, I didn't meet their requirements in 3 areas.

1.) I have to be 100 pounds overweight, with a BMI of 45 or greater.

2.) I need to have documentation of failed attempts at traditional weight loss.

3.) It needs to be medically necessary. Meaning my weight has to have some sort of life saving benefit, or I must have another underlying condition, sleap apnea or the likes of that.

So they are going to send me out an info packet explaining what exactly I need in order for the surgery to go through.

Mike