Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Did your depression subside?

I've been battling depression on and off since 2010. It went away for a bit, but something told me it wasn't going to be away forever. College graduation was a fun time, and I finished at the ripe age of 19! This was in 2011. That night I moved from Orlando to Nashville and began building a good career and resume in the entertainment/music business. My weight continued to spiral upwards as I started climbing the ladder of a cut-throat industry that's completely centered image...so that didn't help any.

One Sunday afternoon, I got a call one day that the little record label I worked at was closing its doors immediately. At that point I was forced to move back to DFW. It took me some time readjust, but I found a good job and was happy again. Unfortunately, it didn't last long. Depression hit me hard and fast in January of 2013 and has been there all along. More weight came with that, and I think I've gained around 100 pounds since starting college in August 2009.

I know I'm only 22, but this past year I've felt like a "has been" - like all my success is in the past and there's nothing to look forward to. I'm not even interested in things I used to love (music, television, film, media) and find myself saying things like, "What's the point? It doesn't matter." The only thing I feel like doing is sleeping...and before my liquid diet, eating. I was prescribed to take Lexipro in July of 2013. I suppose it's doing it's job, but the effects are starting to taper off.

My surgery is on Tuesday (three more days!) and I couldn't be more excited. I feel like I might be turning over a new leaf. It's my understanding that depression can be a lifelong battle, but I'm curious to hear from you how your depression subsided after surgery and how you started to rediscover life. Tell me about your journey beforehand too. Has anyone felt this way? I hope I'm not alone.