Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I am not in any way afraid of dying on the table or possible complications. At this point there is no talking me out of it nor scaring with outrageous facts. HOWEVER, I am afraid that I won't succeed. I am afraid my old eating habits will resurface at some point. Hell, before that point I am concerned about eating healthier, I have never done this before.

I was told to not gain a pound and yet I gained 7....WTF! I am scared to stay this way but just even more so that I won't know how to maintain it.

I can see a new me but this fucking process is borderline discouraging....

#prepre-opsucks

Lol, you're not the first and you won't be the last to feel like this.

With the surgery, the biggest thing you have to overcome is the voice in your head. The one that mentions the word "failure", the one that reminds you of the things you've done to sabotage yourself when losing weight before.

In a way, being told not to put on weight set you off doing the opposite. It's likely to be fear that's driving that behaviour. But while you won't believe me now, once you are sleeved, you will be somewhere you haven't been before - working in partnership with someone who won't let you down and who stands between you and failure - your sleeve.

This may not make sense now, but you won't be alone. I have lost the same 50lbs plus repeatedly over the last 25 years. I knew how to lose weight but always sabotaged myself by putting weight back on despite knowing what I was doing. So I was terrified that I wouldn't do well with the sleeve. But my health left me with nothing else to do other than trust that the sleeve was the answer for me.