Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

should I still be in pain 3 weeks after Surgery?

Hi, I am new to LBT, and sorry I didnt find it earlier!

I have a problem.:help:

I was banded 3 weeks ago and I still have a BAD pulling pain on my left hand side, about 2 inches below my port scar. It doesnt bother me at all UNLESS I brush my hair into a pony tail (its very long), wash my hair, deodorize or anything that makes me lift my arms above my head for more than a second or two. To give you an idea, I actually went to the hairdressers today for a wash and blow dry as I could not face washing it myself and having it pull!!

I am paranoid about swimming, because I just know that this is going to kill me.

The pain is difficult to describe... it actually feels like something is pulling apart...To explain further - in my mind I imagine 2 bits of something like muscles stitched together and them being pulled apart from one another. Obviously I dont know if that is the case, but its kind of what i see in my mind when I feel this pain.

My mind is whiring with all kinds of awful possibilities like the tubing tied up around me about to pop out of the port, or the band caught on some internal organ or something! Its just freaking me out.

Also 2 days ago, i had a bit of 'cat gut' poking out my port scar, and I pulled it a bit as it was scratching me, and about half an inch of stitch came out with the knot on the end!!!!!! so I am freaking out thinking I am coming apart too!!!! I know they disintegrate with body juices, but is it too early for that?

Another person who had surgery the same day as me has not had any pain for over 2 weeks now.... I still dont feel like I can completely resume normal life, and I completely underestimated how long it would take to recover.... Everywhere I have looked pre-op NEVER said it would take long to recover.

I am British and had my surgery in Belgium, so can't just pop in to see my surgeon.