Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Is Having Rny Like Starving Yourself?

I told a nurse friend of mine that I was thinking about having RNY and she said that one of the doctors told her that it is like starving yourself to death. My BMI is 36 and she said that I am not big enough. Any ideas as to how I should reply to her?

She obviously doesn't have a lot of experience with RNY. I have been researching this for a few years now and have gotten to the point where I am ready. I have my surgery date. Yes, your BMI is on the low side for weight loss surgery. But if you have any weight related health issues (sleep apnea, diabetes, etc) your doctor will most likely recommend you. It depends on your surgeons requirements. Good luck!

RNY is not "like starving" yourself. I think of it as a reset button. Research shows that once you get around 100 lbs. overweight, traditional exercise and diet will work for less than 2% of the population. If you don't follow your dietician's guidelines and exercise, you can gain all of the weight you lose back. It is not a quick fix or a permanent fix. You have to work at it and be committed to a new lifestyle forever. WLS is just a great "tool" to help you for long term success. Emotional eating still has to be dealt with. I go to a therapist once a week to work through these issues. Let me know if you have any more specific questions!

Thanks for your help ladies. I feel alot better about her remark now.

I do have other issues for my BMI ( back and knee pain) so I know I will qualify.

I have heard the remark before, Don't loose to much weight.

I don't want to loose to much, I just want to be healthy.

Thanks for your help ladies. I feel alot better about her remark now.

I do have other issues for my BMI ( back and knee pain) so I know I will qualify.

I have heard the remark before' date=' Don't loose to much weight.

I don't want to loose to much, I just want to be healthy.[/quote']