Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I am only 3 1/2 weeks out from surgery so please understand that I am still a newbie. I am looking for insight from long term sleevers. I understood from my physician and nutritionist that there is a "honeymoon period" during the first ~6 months post surgery when hunger pangs are nearly nonexistent. That eating might seem like a full time job as one tries to get in proper amounts of Protein and liquid. I also understood that after this "honeymoon period" hunger pangs may come back but that the sleeve would continue to help one feel full quickly (after only a small meal) if one followed the recommended eating and drinking guidlines.

Have you long timers found this to be true?

Even at only ~3 weeks out from surgery I already have some pretty strong hunger pangs. They are quieted after a small meal but they return - again and again. I am concerned about what I will feel like later if this is what my "honeymoon" is like.

What has your experience been now that you are further out from surgery?

Does bougie size make a difference? I know smaller bougies make for smaller sleeves and less room for food. Do larger bougies result in greater hunger both during honeymoon and later on? My doctor told me mine was 36 French. He said it was on the large-ish side of the range he uses. I am not unhappy about anything with the surgery so far except the slow rate of weight loss and the surprising degree of hunger I experience.

Did I miss "my honeymoon"? Any thoughts or stories to share?

Yeah, my bougie was a 40. BUT, in my case I am not sure I've never known what "hunger" is/was. I just ate all the time. Now I have a routine and I stick to it, because I am personally convinced that "Skippy", my evil brain, is crazy and tells me to eat all the time.

I was also sleeved on 7/31 just over three weeks and I have the same problem I feel hungry at times and I worry what it's going to be like a few months from now or even a year out.