Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Want to be banded too

Hi all,

I am new to this great site. My name is Jeanette AKA Fluffin. I have struggled with my weight for years. I have tried diet, exercise, not eating etc and always put the weight right back on.

I am really considering the lapband procedure. I have Federal BCBS of Delaware so my first step I guess is figuring out if they will pay for this or not. If not then I have to figure out a way to tell hubby I want to spend some serious money:omg: .

I look forward to any suggestions/advice you all can offer.

Jeanette

Jeanette

Welcome to Lapband Talk. Your story is incredibly similar to the rest of us here at LBT. So we totally know what you mean when you say you have struggled with weight issues. For me lapband was just the change I needed and I have never regreted it. Here's hoping that all goes well with your insurance and/or telling your husband. keep us posted.

:) becky

I am sooooo happy with my band. Of course it has only been a couple of months, but I know I couldn't have done it without it.

good luck to you!@

I just pulled up the regs on the Federal BCBS plan and it claims they will pay the procedure if the BMI is 35 or higher with co-morbitities. I am taking BP meds Toprol XL for an irregular heart beat not necessarily high BP and Topamx HL for Migraines. Plus I have serious joint pain along with three surgeries for disk problems.

I found a surgeon in the area so I guess I need to start looking into making the first of many appointments.

What is the cost of this procedure without insurance?

Thanks in advance for all your help

Jeanette

Hi Jeanette, I think it is great you are considering the lapband. I don't regret it for one minute. Its been a long road for me. I am down 70 lbs but 34 are from lapband surgery in June. I'm considered a slow loser at 1 lb per week. Everyone is different.

Best of luck to you.