Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

New to this awesome site!

Hello everyone!!!

I'm so excited to be here. I have been discussing lap band with my husband for quite some time now and I think we've finally decided to investigate it further and possibly take the big leap.

I work full time as a pharmacy technician and stand on my feet 8 hours a day...no sit down time ever. So, I worry about the recovery time. I also only get a weeks vacation time and I assume I will need to use that time for my recovery. I had to have emergency gallbladder removal 3 weeks ago and missed a week of work due to that already!

What incisions are made? What are the days of recovery like? Back to work in a few days? Able to lift a 2 yr old soon after? What are "fills" and what recovery time is needed after having one? :xena_banana:

I'm full of questions and see that if I look around here I'm sure to find answers. Thought I'd post and introduce myself anyway.

I look forward to spending lots of time here and getting on with this "adventure"! :clap2:

Okay let me see if I can answer some of these for you.

Downtime after surgery, I was up and cleaning house and doing everything I normally would on Day3. I walked immediately after surgery and every hour after. Day 7 I was riding 4 wheelers on rough trails for 8 hours that day. No down time really at all.

As far as scars, you can go to the scar thread and see mine and everyone elses, there's 4 little bitty scars and the port scar is about 1 1/2 in. You have to really look to find mine and I'm just 5 months postop. If you've had gall bladder surgery they use your same scars, you'd just have one more for your port.

Fills, they're not painful, just a little poke. They put saling in a shot thing and put it in where your port is and that blows up your band to make it tighter on your stomach. You can go straight from a fill on your lunch break and back to work. No down time whatsoever for these. It takes about 10 seconds.