Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Brand new! Just had my surgery 04/23/13

Hello everyone!

My name is Kaila and I am brand new to this forum (actually any forum) and I am definitely looking for some help with this journey. I will start a little about myself. I grew up the majority of my life in New Hampshire, am currently a proud army wife and mom of an almost 3 year old boy. I work as an office assistant and also as a home sales consultant with Seacret. I've spent the majority of my life taking care of others that it wasn't hard to forget about myself, leading to my unhealthy diet and with stress and anxiety, an addiction to food.

After moving to Colorado I gained a lot more weight in a short period of time because trying to breathe in this elevation was so difficult it took away my physical activity that I had in our other home. Within 3 months I became prediabetic, hypertensive, and had high cholesterol. I had my surgery and all my preop appointments at Evans Community Hospital at Fort Carson. My doctor was Dr. Mayfield. He was amazing. Very personable and straight forward. He didn't sugar coat anything, but definitely made you comfortable to talk to. I had a month of pre op appointments including mutliple nutrition appointments, wellness (metabolism testing), bariatric surgery group counseling and psychological evaluations. Going through the appointmetns were really important and informative.

My doctor was very lenient on the pre op diet. I ate reasonably and cut my calories down by half, but I still enjoyed my cravings occasionally. The day before surgery I ate up to 1:30 pm (only 2 very small meals concidering my Vitamins definitely helped minimize my diet, so I definitely reccomend takin them before surgery for at least 2 weeks) and they provided me a magnesium drink that cleans out your system. At that point I could not have anymore solid food.