Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

eating too much

Since surgery 5/05/04 I have had 2 adjustments. I am at 2cc. I am getting another next week. I am embarrassed because I think I should be doing better. I've lost 23lbs. But, I can really eat with no problem.. Doctor said he will fix me up next week. What do you guys & gals think.

Hello,

I am not experienced about the fills yet but wanted to give my two cents for what its worth. It seems like 2 cc's is a lot. What size of band do you have? Are you following band eating habits (Protein first, vegis, Water, etc)? I know it is VERY individual for everyone so maybe you haven't hit your perfect spot yet. Is your doctor able to remove the same amount of liquid he put in? Hopefully this next one will be the one you need. Best wishes to you and keep us posted. I am sure others will respond for you. Teresa

Hi Newlapper -

It is possible that you are one of those people who needs a lot more Fluid than others to feel restriction. If you are practicing eating the "bandster way" most of the time (NO drinking with meals, solid Protein first, then veggies, then carbs) but can still eat a lot, then you need more restriction.

I agree with Teresa, that you should have your doc see if they can pull out all of the Fluid that's already in there, and check that you really are at 2ccs. If they can't pull it out, it's possible you have a leak, and that's why you're not feeling restricted. Do you feel restriction initially, and then it disappeared? Or have you never felt any differently with any of your fills?

Shelly was getting fills, and they were withdrawing the right amount of fluid, but somehow the fill wasn't making it to the band.

Do NOT dispair! Either you will get restriction, or you will find out why your fills aren't helping. Believe me, with a proper fill, you will not be able to eat too much.

Hang in there, and keep us posted!

Hi Newlapper,