Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Struggling With Guilt

I might be the only person that struggles with guilt but I've been thinking about this. I've only just had my first NUT visit sao im just getting started, but I haven't told anyone I'm even considering it except my husband and one really close friend who is also considering it. I've already decided to only tell my mom and dad before surgery (which I'm nervous bout becAuse they'll think I shouldn't. My mom had bypass but she was much heavier than I am). Anyway sorry to ramble but i am nervous about who to tell at work because i have to tell my boss something and after the surgery I am nervous about ppl asking. I would like to say I'm on a very strict dr supervised diet and leave it at that but I will feel guilty like I am lying. Technically it wouldn't be a lie but still deceiving. Anyone struggle with guilt like that or am I being my usual over analytical self?

You actually don't have to disclose any medical Information to your boss. I did not tell anyone at work. I dont care how obvious it is or isn't my medical information is none of anyone's concern, especially at work. I did tell my family, but just my husband and one aunt. I'm pretty open about talking about my experience with my family. However I am a private person and do not feel the need to indulge. Just know that if you do tell anyone at work chances are that word will spread one way or another. As a matter of fact for my flma papers my doctor just put abdominal surgery, and for my diagnosis I asked them to put my pcos first and they listed obesity as my secondary diagnosis. Best of luck to you, and remember you can always choose to tell people later, however you cannot untell anyone.

I just told my boss I needed time off. I did say I was having surgery but gave no details. No one asked at work either. If they did I would just be vague and change the subject. It's no one's business unless you want it to be.