Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Please Help Me, Now I'm Scared!

Well, I made the awful mistake of going over to OH.com and reading the memorials page. I am terrified now. I had my mind made up and am going to see the surgeon on Thursday for the lapband. I did the seminar last week. I have been reasearching for 3 months now. I know the complication/death rate is much lower than RNY, but, how much lower?? I am a 42 yr. old single mother to a 5 year old daughter. Her father is not in her life at all. If something happens to me, she is an orphan. I have dieted and regained weight my entire life, but up until 5 years ago, have never been this weight. I gained all of my weight with pregnancy and due to events in my life since then, have been unable to take it off sucessfully. I have lost and gained the same 15lbs 3 times in the past year. Diets are not going to work for me and I cannot excercise because every bone in my body hurts. My feet feel like they are broken. I need to lost 80-100 lbs (ideally), but anything at this point is better than what I am. I'm scared now. I cannot afford to die to be thin. Other than my weight, right now I have no other co-morbidities, except for high-cholesterol. I honestly feel like I need the band to keep my weight off for good. If I don't do it now, I never will. I just need some reassurance after reading those memorials, I am terrified. Help!:help:

((((hugs))))

You poor thing!

There is a very good reason there are no memorial pages here at LBT. We've only lost one person, Blossom. She was one of the sweetest people on the board. She died tragically when her tractor over turned while she was doing some major landscaping, and not from direct complications from her band.

Some would say that if she haddn't gotten banded, then she wouldn't have had the energy or strength because she wouldn't have lost any weight.