Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Thyroid and Sleeve Gastrectomy Questions

Hi all! I'm "Trixie." I'm 44 y.o., female, 5'6" and 250 lbs. I'm a business lawyer in Orlando, FL (no stress there!), on BP and cholesterol meds. I don't yet have a surgery date, but it should be in 1-2 months now that I have completed all my clearances.

I am just finishing up the 6-months physician supervised diet whereby I was able to maintain my weight, but I didn't lose a pound. This is mostly due to an out-of-whack thyroid. I'm just hoping for better results from the surgery. Honestly, if I just lose enough to get off the medications I will be happy.

Has anyone else out there got hypothyroidism? How did the surgery work for you? Did it help you get your thyroid levels in balance? Thanks in advance for your answers!

I have hypothyroidism and it did not impact my weightloss (this time)!

You will need to be careful and have your levels checked frequently. My thyroid has not stabolized and my medication needs keep going up and down at 1.5 years out. I waws getting tested every 3 months, but now we are doing every month. I'm having night sweats not related to hormones (confirmed through testing) & my doctor believes that my fluxuating thyroid levels are the culprit. I go in 2 weeks to be tested again - hope we find the "sweet spot" this time.

Hi all! I'm "Trixie." I'm 44 y.o., female, 5'6" and 250 lbs. I'm a business lawyer in Orlando, FL (no stress there!), on BP and cholesterol meds. I don't yet have a surgery date, but it should be in 1-2 months now that I have completed all my clearances.

I am just finishing up the 6-months physician supervised diet whereby I was able to maintain my weight, but I didn't lose a pound. This is mostly due to an out-of-whack thyroid. I'm just hoping for better results from the surgery. Honestly, if I just lose enough to get off the medications I will be happy.