Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Was banded on April 28th, first fill on June 3rd, little/no resrtiction (second one coming soon) Here is an observation I made. When I first got banded, I went through this whole 'mourning' thing. Like I would never eat the same again (yeah, I know, that's a good thing, but you get my meaning) Then, after my first fill it seemed I had no restritiction at all (I know, its a process) so I began being able to eat those same foods I was 'mourning' (i.e. rice, bread) Then it hit me. What am I REALLY mourning? The taste of rice or bread? No, it was my OLD SELF/LIFESTYLE. How many of us myself included run to food for emotional reasons? or bordom? It made me realize that my mind is longing for nothing more than old' memories. Its time for me to find new comfort foods, new memories and re-program my way of thinking. I know it isn't easy, an ongiong process, but this band way of life is the life for me!

Shontel, I'm a newbie but I understand what you are talking about. Just being on the post op diet its been interesting. I know we are not suppose to cheat because of the healing time, but I am finding myself wanting to eat solids much quicker. The lifestyle we probably share has happened over time. Changes doesn't take place immediately, its done in baby steps. Just appreciate each meal as it comes and focus on what is healthy. The band will provide the support (more when you have restriction) that you need. Good job.

Shontel -

Your post is almost the same as the discussion that I had with my mom today. I am currently on day #4 of the pre-op liquid diet and have been 100% faithful until tonight - I had to have 2 of my child's french fries as I was putting them out on a plate - after it was all done, I realized it was hardly worth it. (and I really didn't miss it)

My mom was just checking in to see how the liquid thing was going - and I feel pretty good. I believe that I am down @ 6 #'s as of this am.