Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Time Off from Work?

Hello, all! I'm new here, so please forgive me if I'm asking a question that has already been asked. I'm curious to know how much time you guys took off for your surgery.

Also, does anyone in CA know if leave is covered under FML (Family Medical Leave)? A co-worker who recently underwent LapBand used FML but said most companies require a doctor's note (she submitted hers to the HR dept. but had a CA doctor). So if I were to go to Mexico for WLS, would I need a note from the Mexican surgeon? Has anyone been through this?

Thanks for any info you can provide! I'm new to all of this. Good luck to everyone on your journey!

I put in to take two weeks off through my disability at work. FMLA is available, just keep in mind it is not paid. If you have short term disability then you can get paid while you are out. I'm not sure that it matters where you have your surgery, so you might want to check on that.

Hello, all! I'm new here, so please forgive me if I'm asking a question that has already been asked. I'm curious to know how much time you guys took off for your surgery.

Also, does anyone in CA know if leave is covered under FML (Family Medical Leave)? A co-worker who recently underwent LapBand used FML but said most companies require a doctor's note (she submitted hers to the HR dept. but had a CA doctor). So if I were to go to Mexico for WLS, would I need a note from the Mexican surgeon? Has anyone been through this?

Thanks for any info you can provide! I'm new to all of this. Good luck to everyone on your journey!

I took 2 weeks off. . . i could have gone back in one week, but hey, i had 2 weeks coming with pay. . . so i took it and boy am i glad i did!!!