Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How much should I really expect to lose?

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting. I have just mailed in my paperwork to get any appointment with Dr. I know that I need this procedure done, (256lbs, 40 BMI, high blood pressure, diabetes) but I'm still nervous.

Can I ask you guys why you chose Lap band over other procedures? And is it true they only expect me to lose 50% of my excess weight? So therefore they would be satisfied with me weighing @200lbs? Are you really not hungry? Generally speaking, I don't need to be hungry to eat!!!!!! What happens with that?

Any help would be great.:cry

If you’re determined you can lose more than 50%. I started at 244 and am currently at 161. It has taken almost 3 years to get this far and the last 5 months it’s only been 2 lbs down per month, but I’m happy it’s not going up.

Yes I get hungry but you fill up fast, feel full and can’t eat much. You do have to make good healthy food choices. and have optimum restriction.

Lastly I think age has a lot to do with stats and how fast the weight can come off, it’s good to be realistic.

Welcome to LBT and good luck.

I chose the lap band because I just was not comfortable with the thought of re-routing my insides. I also know people who have had gastric bypass done and are now regaining the weight quickly. They lose quickly because of the malabsorbtion and the restriction of the quantity they can eat, but they have lots of problems with nutritional deficiencies, etc. That just doesn't sound healthy to me. With the band I can eat a balanced diet...just not much of it. I'm out 4 months and have lost 30 pounds and am very satisfied with that. This will take longer but I just feel it's a healthier route. I still get hungry just prior to meal times, but I can eat about a cup of food and am completely satisfied. Not stuffed to the point of discomfort, but not hungry anymore, either.