Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

BMI only 33 but have struggled all my life

I am seriously considering the sleeve. I am 35 yo, 5' tall and weigh about 170 right now. My heaviest was 244 in 2003. It has taken me years to lose the weight and actually got done lower last year to 130 but that is with a VERY strict diet and exercise regimen. I am a single mom with three small children and my profession is very stresssful. I just can't take the massive weight gain/loss constantly. My mom had gastric segmentation 16 years ago and it has been a blessing for her. Our family is obese, no way around it. I have BCBS Federal and understand after calling that they do cover this procedure. I know with a low BMI (ha low, meaning I am obese, not considered morbidly obese) my chances of approval may not be good. I also have asthma, joint pain, horrible knees, and added stress because I can't seem to lose weight anymore. Also, I used to be 5'2", I have scoliosis and am afraid the weightdoes affect that, I have back pain when standing alot. I don't know where to start, how do I find a dr? Anyone have any advice or words of wisdom in my situation?

To find a doctor, start with your insurance company to find out which surgeons perform the sleeve, and if they accept your insurance, and do a google search of doctors in your area that perform the sleeve.

Then do independent research on that surgeon, and contact their office for information on their seminar, office procedures, consultation and so forth. Once you get some details on specific surgeons then start asking for some people's personal experience with that particular surgeon. Of course, you'll get a wide range of opinions and experiences so you'll have to sift through the information at your own discretion.

I know the rollercoaster of weight loss and gain, and the sleeve has given me the control I need to keep a healthy weight.

Best wishes in your research.