Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

still not convinced with the sleeve .. am confused

hi ... i have been battling with my weight for the last 30 yrs ... now am frustrated .... went to my dietician when i was 11 yrs old ...have gone to numerous fat camps .... now am frustrated ... my BMI is 37 .. and am i have been doing my research on some sort of a weightloss surgery .... and i find the sleeve the most approriate ..i just have a few questions frm people who have got this procedure done

1. first of all how do i choose on a doctor to do this procedure .. i have been meeting people and they all seem good to me ..

2. do u have serious gas and acidity problem throughout and one keeps burping ? isnt tht embarassing ?

3. am due to get married in march this year will my tummy settle down till then .. i know it not going to be normal but obv i dont want to feel nauseatic and keep throwing up .

4. should i really do this ? am overweight by 60 pounds ... please please tell me ... yes for sure i have been so depressed and so stressed mentally because am consulting so many doctors about this and its mentally draininig me ... please do keep me posted .

I suggest you seek council with a psychologist who specializes in WLS. At the hospital where I had my surgery there is an excellent psychologist who pre-screens any person considering having WLS and she sees them a few times putting them through workshop testing and questionnaires to determine if they are psychologically ready for the major changes that do occur after such a procedure. Unfortunately I was not informed of her practice until after the surgery since I had psychological/emotional disturbances post surgery which I am still grappling with. Had I seen her prior to the surgery she would have recognized that I was not ready.