Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

i want the sleeve soooo bad

Hi, my name is Jeani, i have had a weight problem my whole life. Maybe not as bad as some people but it's still a MAJOR problem. Now on top of the weight, i have some health issues and i'm not getting any younger. I've been doing lots of research and i had never heard of the sleeve but now i believe it is the only way i want to go. My doctor does do them, but i get the feeling he prefers bypass. I need to take anti inflamatory pain meds and have been told you can still take them with the sleeve, not with bypass. I'm confused, i'm nervous, i'm not sure if my HMO will approve it. Does anyone know if anthem blue cross is approving the sleeve in 2010? I had my first consultation, did the pscych eval and passed that, had my first support group. Now i guess it's a waiting game to see if the insurance will approve. I've never done a chat room before and it's been really great being able to watch people's videos on you tube i've learned so much. Sometimes tho, the info you get just ends up confusing you so i'm a little stressed. Thanks for being there:001_unsure:

Edited by sleevegenie
spelling

Hi Jeani, and welcome to VST.

The sleeve is a great tool, and I hope you get approval from your insurance.

It's true that you can take NSAIDs with the sleeve because it's a full-functioning stomach, just smaller. No pouch for the NSAIDs to irritate.

I take Alleve a couple of times a week for pains and aches.

Good luck on your journey, and keep us posted.