Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Aloha everyone!

I am new to all of this and I have been reading your inputs at this VSG site and find it most informative. I originally signed up in April of 2007 with the intent of having the lap band surgery. Went throu the pre-op requirements of meeting with the dietician, psych people, etc. then got shot down because my cardiologist found that I had a severe blockage in my main aorta valve. Had that corrected but had to wait a year for the stent to fuse with the artery and in the meantime, my ex-doctor had mentioned that the VSG would be a safer procedure for me. So now I am scheduled and back on track for my WSL.

I've been reading a lot about the procedure a lot but nothing compares to information that is generated from the people that have actually gone thru the procedure and trust me, I really appreciate your inputs. However, there is a question taht I don't think I've seen on the web. I take a lot of medication for gout, diabetes, heart, etc. With the sleeve, will it be difficult to swallow medication, say "horse pills'?:confused1:

Edited by u'i
typo

Welcome to VST, I'm so happy that your wls is back on track. From what I've been told, eventually we'll be able to swallow medicine, but I'm only 3 months out and haven't yet been cleared to take pills (haven't asked in a month though). I know you can crush pills that aren't time released. I've also read of people who have taken their pills from very early out, so I'm sure more people will chime in.

Good luck with the rest of your journey! This surgery has been wonderful for me.

Thanks, Deedee. How are you doing on your post op? What kind of Protein shakes/supplements are you taking?

u'i - welcome to VST. I, too, am happy your WLS is back on schedule - finding the blockage may have been a blessing in disguise in that you didn't get the band and will now have the sleeve.