Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

***PLEASE! need advice on procedure!*****

Hello,Im new to this fourm & need some advice from some experienced members on lap-band VS the bypass.OK,Im a 37 year old male with a BMI of 43.I weigh 295.I have OXFORD insurrence & was told that shouldnt be a problem with approvel.I can pay cash if necessary.I went to a dr. that ONLY does the gastric bypass.I did all my physc reports & medicial reports.ALL favorable reports to have sugury.The next step was for my dr. to hand the report over to my insurrance for approvel. BUT THEN I SEEN A VIDEO of the gastric bypass procedure!!! It scared the hell out of me.NOW Im leaning towards the band but cant get a sraight answer from my Dr. because he only does gastric bypasses! personally,I think Id rather do the band BUT I want to make sure its right for me.The part of me thats Obeese is mainly my stomach...I weigh 295.If I can lose 80 to 100 lbs. Id be satisfied with that!To me the gastric bypass seems a little extreme.Im not 400-500 lbs. YET.If I was...OK.but since Im just heavy in the stomach & love handel areas...maybe the band will be sufficent? Im confused betwwen the gastric dealing with malabsorution & the lap-band dealing JUST with restrictive eating.(I think thats how you put it) My worse time is when I get home from work at 3 in the morning....Ill eat ice cream,choclate milk,steak,whatever....then go right to sleep.Thats where I think my problems are with my eating habits.ALSO,Im a smoker.MY doctor says he WONT do sugury on me UNLESS Im smoke free for a month.he said some doctors will,but he wont.I really DONT want to quit AT THIS POINT & TIME but will to get sugury.Are there any doctors less demanding with this? From what I put down so far......any suguesstions on what MIGHT be good for me?Can the lap-band be enough or do I need the malabsorution that the gastric bypass gives you to lose my desired weight?Any one in NEW-JERSEY that can recomend a decent doctor or can